Saturday, Jul 20, 2024

October 4, 2023 / Sports / By

Interesting Story Of Cricket World Cup Trophy.

The ICC ODI World Cup will begin on October 5, 2023 with a match between defending champions England and New Zealand.
Cricket’s biggest event is now just one day away and the entire world’s attention has turned to India for another ICC event and the famous ODI World Cup.

The tournament that started as the Prudential Cup in 1975 is now known as the Cricket World Cup and as far as the history of the trophy is concerned, it is also an interesting story.

This is the 13th edition of the World Championship and the trophy went through several changes in the 1987, 1992 and 1996 World Cups and took its final form in the 1999 World Cup.

There has been a lot of talk about the playing teams, history of the tournament, host countries and other things, but we know very little about the trophy, today let’s try to know some interesting and amazing facts related to the same trophy.

When was the ODI World Cup trophy made?

After the conclusion of the 1996 World Cup which was won by Sri Lanka, the ICC (International Cricket Council) decided to have a permanent World Cup trophy similar to the FIFA World Cup.

The current trophy made its debut in the 1999 season and was first lifted by Steve Waugh’s Australia. Interestingly, out of exactly 6 editions of the ODI World Cup between 1975 and 1996, four trophies were displayed on the biggest stage.

Cricket World Cup Trophy Design

The ICC ODI World Cup trophy is made entirely of silver and gold. It prominently features a globe-shaped cricket ball and a seam around it.

The seam of the ball represents the axial tilt of the earth which represents the concepts of ‘Cricket’ and ‘World’.

The World Cup trophy ball-like globe has three silver pillars which in many ways represent the three stumps and the fundamentals of cricket which are batting, bowling and fielding.

The trophy is supported on a hardwood base which is used to inscribe the names of the winners.

Cricket World Cup Trophy Height and Weight

The current World Cup trophy, which is very famous and a symbol of global dominance, was first lifted by the Australian cricket team in the year 1999.

This famous silverware trophy was designed by Paul Marsden of Garrard & Company in London. The current trophy weighs 11 kg and is 65 cm in length.

It is certainly one of the biggest trophies to be presented in a multi-national sport in comparison to different sports disciplines. Compared to the ICC ODI World Cup trophy, the FIFA World Cup weighs six kilograms and is 37 centimeters long.

Do the winners take home the original ODI World Cup trophy?

This is a burning question that has been debated over and over again. The winners of the ICC ODI World Cup take home a replica every year and the original trophy is always taken to the ICC headquarters in the UAE.

Compared to the original World Cup trophy, the replica has very slight differences. As far as the original trophy is concerned, the ICC logo must be engraved on the inside of the columns on the original trophy, while on the other hand, the replica trophy should have the logo of the event on the inside of the columns.

ICC ODI World Cup Trophy Controversies

After Australia lifted the actual trophy for the first time in 1999, the Australian team created a controversy in 2003. After defeating India in the final, Australia lifted the World Cup trophy which looked like a perpetual trophy and it is very difficult to say whether they lifted the original trophy that year or a replica.

In 2011, when Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the ODI World Cup, there was a controversy over the legality of the World Cup trophy lifted by the Indian team.

There were reports that the original trophy never made it out of Mumbai customs and a replica was presented to world champions India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *